The consortium consists of 15 members, some contributing to the hardware development, others to the software development, and almost all to the science case development (not detailed here). Their roles are summarised below:

AIP-Logo Leibniz Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP)

As lead institute of the consortium, AIP hosts the Principle Investigator, the Chair of the Executive Board, and the Project Management Office. The AIP is responsible for all aspects related to the VISTA telescope: the wide-field corrector, the acquisition & guiding and the wave-front sensor. Furthermore, the AIP contributes to the fibre-positioner and its metrology system, and develops the fibre feed. Finally, the AIP leads the Assembly, Integration, and Verification of the full system.

thumb Australian Astronomical Observatory (AAO)  

AAO is responsible for the fibre positioner unit AESOP.


Centre de Recherche Astrophysique de Lyon (CRAL)

CRAL is responsible for  the low-resolution spectrographs.

Print Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge (IoA)  

IoA is responsible for the 4MOST Data Management System.

MPIA_logo Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (MPIA)

MPIA is responsible for instrument control hardware.

ZAH Zentrum für Astronomie der Universität Heidelberg

The Landessternwarte (ZAH/LSW) is responsible for  the high-resolution spectrograph and the instrument control software.
The Astronomisches Rechen-Institut (ZAH/ARI) is a pure science-support institute.


MPE-Logo Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (MPE)

MPE is responsible for developing the 4MOST Facility Simulator: the throughput simulator and ETC, the target-allocation algorithm and the Operations Simulator. MPE is also responsible for developing and, during 4MOST operations, hosting the Operations System that includes the Observer Support Software.


ESO-Logo European Southern Observatory (ESO)  

ESO develops and contributes the Detector System of 4MOST.

NOVa-Logo Nederlandse Onderzoekschool Voor Astronomie (NOVA)  

NOVA/ASTRON is responsible for developing the 4MOST Calibration System. In addition, NOVA/ASTRON, in collaboration with RAL, developed a concept for the low-resolution spectrograph during the Concept Design Phase.


GEPI-LOGo Laboratoire d’Etudes des Galaxies, Etoiles, Physique et Instrumentation (GEPI)  

GEPI is a pure science-support institute and developed a concept for 4MOST’s high-resolution spectrograph during the Concept Design Phase.


Groningen-Logo Rijksunversiteit Groningen (RuG) 

RuG is a pure science-support institute.



Lunds universitet (Lund)  

Lund Observatory is a pure science-support institute.


Uppsala universitet (UU)  

UU is a pure science-support institute.


Universität Hamburg (UHH)

UHH is a pure science-support institute.

EPFL Logo QUADRI École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

EPFL is a pure science-support institute.

LU---Logo---Positive--600UoPlandscapePUR300dpi Logo_SouthamptonQUB_Logo Transients Participation Group

This is a pure science-support group, with support from Lancaster University, University of Portsmouth, Queen’s University Belfast, and University of Southampton.