4MOST - 4-metre Multi-Object Spectroscopic Telescope
4-m Multi-Object Spectroscopic Telescope


The consortium consists of 17 full members and 9 minor participants, some contributing to the hardware development, others to the software development, and almost all to the science case development. Their roles are summarised below.

Full consortium members

AIP logo Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP)
As lead institute of the consortium, AIP hosts the Principle Investigator, the Chair of the Executive Board, and the Project Management Office. The AIP is responsible for all aspects related to the VISTA telescope: the wide-field corrector, the acquisition guiding, the wave-front sensor, and the telescope commissioning tool. Furthermore, the AIP contributes to the fibre-positioner and its metrology system, and develops the fibre feed. Finally, the AIP leads the Assembly, Integration, and Verification of the full system.
AAO logo Australian Astronomical Optics (AAO)
AAO is responsible for the fibre positioner unit AESOP.
CRAL logo Centre de Recherche Astrophysique de Lyon (CRAL)
CRAL is responsible for the low-resolution spectrographs.
Durham logo Durham University, Department of Physics (Durham)
Durham University contributes to the optical fibre system of the Calibration System.
EPFL logo École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
EPFL is a pure science-support institute.
ESO-Logo European Southern Observatory (ESO)
ESO develops and contributes the detector system of 4MOST.
Lund logo Lunds universitet (LU), Lund Observatory
LU is a pure science-support institute.
MPIA logo Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (MPIA)
MPIA is responsible for the instrument control hardware.
MPE logo Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (MPE)
MPE is responsible for developing the facility simulator: the throughput simulator and ETC, the target-allocation algorithm and the operations simulator. MPE is also responsible for developing and, during operations, hosting the operations system that includes the observer support software.
NOVA logo Nederlandse Onderzoekschool Voor Astronomie (NOVA)
NOVA is responsible for developing the calibration system. In addition, NOVA, in collaboration with RAL, developed a concept for the low-resolution spectrograph during the Conceptual Design Phase.
Groningen logo Rijksunversiteit Groningen (RuG), Kapteyn Astronomical Institute
RuG is a pure science-support institute.
Bath logo University of Bath, Department of Physics (Bath)
Bath is a pure science-support institute.
Cambridge logo University of Cambridge, Institute of Astronomy (IoA)
IoA is responsible for the data management system.
UHH logo Universität Hamburg (UHH), Hamburger Sternwarte
UHH is responsible for the helpdesk and contributes to software development.
Heidelberg logo Universität Heidelberg, Zentrum für Astronomie (ZAH)
The Landessternwarte (ZAH/LSW) is responsible for the high-resolution spectrograph and the instrument control software. The Astronomisches Rechen-Institut (ZAH/ARI) is a pure science-support institute.
UWA logo University of Western Australia (UWA), International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR)
UWA/ICRAR is a pure science-support institute.
Uppsala logo Uppsala unversitet (UU), Department of Physics and Astronomy
UU is a pure science-support institute.

Minor participants

GEPI logo L'Observatoire de Paris, Galaxies, Étoiles, Physique et Instrumentation (GEPI)
GEPI is now a pure science-support institute, but developed a concept for 4MOST's high-resolution spectrograph during the Conceptual Design Phase.
LMA logo Laboratoire des Matériaux Avancés (IN2P3/LMA)
LMA provides the coatings for the spectrograph dichroics.
UCL logo University College London, Department of Physics and Astronomy (UCL)
UCL performs the integration, alignment, and testing of the Wide Field Corrector.
Hull logo University of Hull, E.A. Milne Centre for Astrophysics
University of Hull is a pure science-support institute.
Potsdam logo Universität Potsdam, Institut für Physik und Astronomie
Universität Potsdam is a pure science-support institute.
Sussex logo University of Sussex, Astronomy Centre, Department of Physics & Astronomy
University of Sussex is a pure science-support institute.
Tartu logo University of Tartu, Tartu Observatory
University of Tartu is a pure science-support institute.
Warwick logo University of Warwick, Department of Physics
University of Warwick is a pure science-support institute.
Lancaster University Logo Transients Participation Group
This is a pure science-support group, with support from Lancaster University,  University of Portsmouth, University of Southampton, and Queen’s University Belfast.
University of Portsmouth Logo